Surviving life as a border (part 2)

Am sitting in class, totally bored. The lecturer talks to himself 90 percent of the time. Scratch that, 100 per cent of the time. Except once in a while I will answer a question. It is just in my nature to want to show off something I know. I look at the time for the nth time. I give a wide yawn. It’s a few minutes to lunch time, and am hungry. That’s how most of my afternoons start.

A mad dash for the door is what characterizes the teacher’s exit. At this point, lunch is of utmost priority. I go looking for my pals, Cracker (she looks like she is always on a high) and Dannie, who plans for her meals like a day before! There are many options for lunch. Most of them lousy. Take the mess, for instance. There is always a long long queue, where a whole class can come and overtake you. The food is not that good either, imagine cooking for 2000 people. It can’t be tasty.

there is a smaller mess called Candles in The Wind. The food there is a bit more expensive. their food is overpriced by like 30 bob, on average. the only differnece is they add a lot of spices that will give you a heartburn the whole afternoon (i hope nzembi can concur with this.) of course there is the lectuer’s cafeteria, but then since when did our food allowances allow us to compete with them?

Wait, this is turning into a post about food. Well, let it take its natural course. Then there is some shacks outside the school gate, a place we call Gashororo. Very very dusty. Its not an option. Then there is the student’s center. Lousy food. In short, there is no good place to get good food, unless you are cooking for yourself. I must say am an impatient type. Two hours of sweating over an open electric cooker that could shock u to eternity at any second, or get impatient and blow you up, all for a plate of rice which you could get for 12 bob. Then there is the clean up afterwards. Of course cooking is prohibited in the rooms, but who really follows these rules? Then your room smells like a stuffy kitchen, not to add a huge attraction to cockroaches.

Might I add there is this guy called Amos. He is the best around. He has good goods and services. Don’t think far. He has good customer service and his fries are better than those of Kenchic. Save for the faint wisp of smoke that hits you when you open the bag of fries. I think he uses firewood to cook them. As long as we don’t see where exactly he does his cooking; we might continue enjoying the fries. Its not good to have a wild imagination. You might start wondering about the number of germs on those notes he is handling at the same time serving your fries or when was the last time he washed that tomato sauce stained apron.

A little debate ensues on where we should take lunch. Amos wins though we all agree that it is quite unhealthy. We agree to quit fries…..when we hit our 40’s. hopefully by then, we wont be weighing tons!

With lunch taken care of, there is a tendency to catch up on lost sleep in the afternoon. Except if you have classes. Its kewl to skive classes at the beginning of the semester, when its mostly introduction. You must make sure you catch up, though. You are only as cool as your grades. No one looks kindly upon you when u get a supplementary. There will always be snide remarks about guys who do sups and still think they can skive classes. Since it is now mid semester, classes have to be attended.

On Monday, I have programming, which I was going to say am not so bad at, but modesty wins, since am yet to apply my knowledge in the real world. The interesting day is Wednesday, when I have no lessons, and I usually do my assignments on this day.

Speaking of assignments and reports, there is this unit we do: electronics. I do computer science, its not so much about the application s that we are taught, but more like the maths and science behind the computers. So I guess a unit like electronics makes sense, except I have never seen a subject more abstract than physics.

Every once in two Tuesdays, at 7 am, I head to the engineering building, past the basic electrical lab, the high voltage lab (Kip should know something about this- I have always pictured mad professors torturing students in there…), past the gents with their blue cisterns (why not the usual white? And why is the door always open?) and up the stairs to our usual lab.

There, I join my group mates in what we could call a mockery of an experiment. Wires here, clips there, voltmeter and what-have-you-meter connected here, bring that diode and voila, we are recording measurements. Later (on Wednesday), when you plot the values on a graph paper, you get a zig-zag line. Definitely something wrong coz no normal graph appears like that in any textbook. The only thing you can do is to doctor your values, and the next thing you know, u have a surprisingly linear graph, whose gradient gives a value just 0.01 less than that in the textbook.

is it any wonder then that the only C i had in my transcript last year was in physics? am hoping to do better in electronics this semester.

If I have no pending assignments, I go swimming at the nearby 2-star (if it is even star-rated) hotel, where I cough up a soc (100 bob), come back and head for the salon to make my hair. This is how it looks like now.

13 Responses

  1. A nice look into life in the local unis. For one who went to uni outside, this is interesting :).

    u are welcome to part 3, coming soon..

    Ati electronics is as abstract as physics? Eh, think again :). I remember in one of my electronic classes we had comp sci students in on it as it was required for them.

    Digital Logic design. Good stuff that.

    digital logic is cool, but we first have to pitia basic electronics, its not so exciting, trust me..

    And talking of labs, I remember one session where my two partners and I worked our way through the exercise carefully saving everything and double checking we were, only to find two hours later that the computer we were working on was lying to us. Imagine our shock and horror to find we had just lost two hours worth of work, half an hour to the end of the session. Good thing we had been consulting the teaching assistant throughout who had seen our work, so he was able to cut us some slack. That would have been hell!

    Looking forward to part 3

  2. yep! me is in full agreement with u about the food in campo!! totally sux. but for me Candle in the wind food is always the best deal i cant get in all those food joints..even with all that spice!! just take lots of water after eating, and ul be easy…

    that’s what i do..

    The mess is a no-go zone unless therez chicken. u have to agree wit me, that kuku deal at 60 bob is worth it. As for studiiz..ad rather eat jail food, Amos’s friez…well, i aint much of a friez person…so i wldnt know how to rate em..

    its okay to say u eat fries, nobody will judge you..hata kama u are Amo’s greatest customer.. 😉

  3. meant…best deal i can get…**

  4. Si you just ruka luch, eat an orange then life goes on,kwani?It takes u one hr to decide what to eat in 15 mins!

    ato ruka lunch?? well, that’s an idea..i only do that when i have no time, or no appetite, which is rare! besides, since me and my pals do different courses, meal times are bonding times

    Your hairdo looks nice,how much did you pay?(so kanyan!)
    Why is that guy(lecturer?) at the door smiling?Is he noticing the same thing as I do?Where is half the ussual class attendance?

    the hairdo cost a lot..am still feeling the pinch of six holes worth a soc each..
    the guy at the door is a fellow student, and he aint laughing at anything u think he’s laughing at…

  5. I have problems in writing LUNCH and KENYAN. Think its a real problem!

    u needed to go for lunch… stop giving me storos of oranges 🙂
    and the class was over so people were leaving

  6. hhehee. them tales tell us who fell out of school. 🙂 loving the tales.

    am not going to quit….hopefully will make it to the very end

  7. hmmmmmmmmm

    yeah…..

  8. i am so glad that that chapter of my life is closed…

    your hair looks mzuri…

    u are glad? me, am enjoying this campo life….
    thanks for the hair compliment, that was the whole point of posting the foto, some people still dont get it! 😦

  9. If the klas ws over, how come yo stil thr? And yes! I maintain tht i dont do friez. .:p

    well, i remained to take the photo, didn’t I?

  10. Electronics not so exciting? Ha, I prefered that to digital logic 🙂 Different folks different strokes, I guess!

  11. @egm

    digital electronics def better than electronics, i mean, just this morning, i spent 3 hours at the lab doing some exp which did not turn out right

    i even blew up two diodes in the process!

  12. Aah the good old eng building, spent many years sweating it out in there.
    In your eating joints how come you didn’t mention Serena- it was the next stage before staff caf, Their fries and pilau were always a good break from the mess food.
    And this Nzembi is it some B. Arch student, yaani bado yuko shule?

  13. well, u can’t have fires abd pilau everyday……

Leave a Reply

