The diet in Campus

Val was wondering what we (Nzembi and I) are eating that is making us..(and A son of His mother) write very um..inspiring? article…

Could this be it?

Before..(just because it is not chicken mshikaji, mshikaki..whatever from coast doesn’t mean it is not edible)

Rice, Vegetables, Ndengu

Rice, Vegetables, Ndengu

And now, ladies and gentlemen…… After

If you are a boy..let’ s say a rugby player..you add two chapos and an omelette to get a complete meal!

Enjoy!

22 Responses

  1. hey Campus girl,
    was this your plate of food?
    I think i can make out some sukumas, ndengu and i assume the yellow one is rice right?

    This brings back memories of the good old campus days.
    (wistful look in her eye)


  2. No, it was not my plate..I was the camera(wo)man…

    The yellow one is rice…they always color it…

  3. what is that brown liquid in the tumblers?

    That’s coffee…in plastic cups. Any other will be broken/stolen…

  4. How i hate that food.! Is there still chicken at the mess?

    @ Sybella, that brown liquid is ‘coffee’.

    I don’t know about the main mess..but candles still has chicken. The food in the mess is pathetic but at times you have no choice. and you know how they serve it…heaping and pouring..I guess that is the fun in it…when you’ll look back and see what you’ve been eating..

  5. May be I should have some of that so I can get into the mood too

    You are welcome..the mess is open all week..

  6. the first pic looks alright to me. yummy, i mean, i could eat that without complaining..or maybe am saying that coz am not there to eat it…lol. oh, i just remembered i hate dengu, and it is for sure dengu not ndengu..unless am forgetting.

    dengu? ndengu? what’s the difference…

    as for mshikaki, man, u remind me of home sweet home…mwaaa!!!!

    Coast food has to be the best.

  7. this meal reminds me of Gashororo in jkuat and Kenyatta Market in KU. i actually liked meals from the “markets” than the mess.

    I still to to Gash once in a while for meals…and I have been to Kenyatta market in K.U.

  8. And you are still left wondering why Kenyan students are in good health?
    Good food(meat,red in particular, excluded), a heap in the plate,and coffee,as Savvy claims it is, to keep you awake throughout the lectures!

    The coffee actually works in an opposite manner..u end up trying to stay awake..

  9. i hate veggies and ndengus..would starve to death i would.

    They are good for your health! Having said that..I hate veggies too..but for my health..

  10. @Mboiznoma, I hear you. KU mess food sucked big time. Oh the good old days of 20 bob food and 10 bob fresh juice.

    Even now..I suppose mess meals are relatively cheaper. The food actually tastes better than it looks..

  11. hahah mboiz mnoma, u cracked me up on the gashororo name…sounds like a name so near mshatha…

    It is called Gashororo, perhaps I could show u around?

    as for the meals, men at this our place….they’re fed like wot they are:rich kids who still complain for being served with chips burger, chicken..meat daily, fillet the whole of that crap. me am on my own and survive on a bachelor’s recipe…

    Bachelor’s recipe?..

  12. nowhere close to appetizing… but then I guess u do what u gotta do. But I’m with Gream… perhaps I should have a heaping of that to get me thru November.

    Then you can finish your best seller story…

  13. Eat like that add two chapos and go for that 3hr afternoon lecture.Its a disaster waiting to happen especially if you have a short concentration span,like I do.

    Sleep in the afternoon has never been sweeter..

  14. So this is what gets u in the mood??? here I was waiting for some earth shattering stuff..still tis good to know what to cook should I (ahem) feel the urge for interesting dreams 😉

    Anytime u feel like, holla..I shall arrange a meal for you from the mess..

  15. I don’t miss campus food especially the ndengu you end up spitting out lots of small stones which at he end of four years must amount to a pickup load of gravel.

    appendictomy(sp) needed at the end of four years!

    They still serve that nasty black coffee, woe unto you if you get the dregs at the bottom of the kettle!

    Grade one coffee it is..though they compensate by making it sugary

  16. Damn someone got an appetite. Looks good

    That someone being you?

  17. This reminds me of 19 beans which became 29 ya power for the jamaas who added a 10 bob omelette.
    The flagship meal was 59 (included quarter chicken) and the occasional fish fillet (u had to overtime by going to mess just around 6pm for the fillet ishad so quickly).
    Then the 37 which contained some pieces of beef.
    I however realize the food prices were recently elevated.

    19 is now 23… 37 is now 42…inflation…though of course all u say is the price and the guy knows your combination..

  18. Maybe it’s because I’m starved for Kenyan food but that actually looked quite appetising.

    It tastes way better than it looks…

    And yet I call myself a gourmand.

    Well, if you can cook ugali..

  19. WEWE!! I am feeding on caviar and shrimp. Wait…I must still be dreaming..hmmm..where’s my..er…accomplice.

    Interesting meal that. Why did you need two forks to eat?

  20. @A son..

    The two forks is like a tradition here. Whether you need both of them or not….when I first came, I waited around for a spoon till I realised no spoons were forthcoming!

    Accomplice ready and waiting!..

  21. This reminds me of the good old days back there.u forgot the ever black coffee esply during cold months it came in hardy

    Kahawa number one? It’s still the best.

  22. LIFE IN CAMPO IS A REAL HASSLE ESPECIALLY WHEN WE GO FOR TRIMESTER AND THEIR IS NO RESCUE FROM THE GUYS AT ANNIVERSARY TOWERS ………THE SEMESTER ALWAYS TOUGH AND CONTRARY TO THE OTHER WHERE AT THE START OF THE SEM WE EAT THE ANIMAL PRODUCTS THE TRI-SEM ARE KICKED OFF BY EATING WHAT THE ANIMALS EAT, THE VOICE OF A SLY GIRL WHO PICK THE VOUCHERS ALWAYS RING IN MY HEAD”SIMA SUKUMA, SIMA MBOGA KABEJI, WALI KABEJI , WALI MBOGA………” ALL THE STUFF THA REALLY DONT APPETIZE……HOPE SOON I;LL GRADUATE AND GET OUT OF THIS STUUFY MESS AND DUMP HOOSTELS WHERE KUCHINJWA IS THE ORDER…….

    or cook for yourself real food.

Leave a Reply

