End of Semester, End of Year

Days like these are history for now..

Days like these are history for now..

No more books. No more assignments. No more staying up late studying, no more group discussions. No more calls from lecturers…no more CATs, at least for the next four months.

Finishing exams is a good feeling. The end of these exams mark the end of my junior year, meaning next year am a finalist. I’ll be finishing my undergraduate studies. Am just glad this year is over. It’s certainly been full of ups and downs.

The highlight of the year is probably the coast class trip. I don’t ever being un-sober for four straight days, and swimming and clubbing so much. Not a care in the world. The worst part of the year could be the scratching-of-my-face incident. I’ve never felt so traumatized. I lost my wallet sometime back…plus all my documents and my china phone.

The holidays are here and I wish I was a kid again so I can enjoy my Christmas. As it is, I will probably be stuck in the kitchen doing dishes for invited guests who may come home. Or perhaps fighting for the remote with my brothers so I can watch a Christmas movie on T.V. Of course, my laptop is filled to capacity with unwatched series and movies, though I doubt I will watch them.

In January, I’ll probably be hustling for a place to do my internship. So far, I have no confirmed or unconfirmed responses from the tens of applications that I sent. Anyone wants to hire an intern in I.T. for the next three months?

We didn’t have a bash to celebrate the end of the semester or year with my classmates. We did do a nyam chom thing at the local Village Market (note, I said local) and by the time we had one or two drinks, we were ready to hit the sack. Two weeks of sleepless nights had done us in. For the next few weeks, stories on this blog may or may not have much to do with the campus life, but the campus girl out there in the industry will not let you down. There is a lot out there.

P.S. If you happen to read this, I would like to quote Bon Jovi “You love’s like one last cigarette, I’ll savour it..the last cigarette, take it in and hold my breath, hoping that it never ends..”. You know who you are.

8 Responses

  1. Good for you! I love the feeling of being done, I’m still catching up with sleep. I also know what you mean about being at home. Ive already had to entertain some unexpected guests. Enjoy your break and good luck finding an internship!

    Thanks on the internship, I have two serious offers am considering now. meanwhile..am tired of catching up with sleep..

  2. Enjoy the holidays, plus get yourself a copy of Meatloaf’s classic”I would do anything for love…” it will lift your spirit

    Let me look for it…but am loving the holidays already..

  3. Are you willing to come to Dar for your internship? Having visited your blog many times you feel like the girl next door.

    Nice of you to read my blog so much…I would like to come to Tz but we are restricted by the university to do our internship within the borders, maybe when I finish campus next year?

  4. Happy holidays.
    Have fun to the max.

    Wish you well in your internship.

    Cheers!

    Thanks..happy holidays too.

  5. That last line.
    Keeeewl.

    Enjoy ya hols.

    Enjoy yours too..

  6. Savvy just know you have a friend in Dar,good luck.

    Thanks, am really touched..I may be visiting Dar next year..

  7. end of year was always the best, remember those VM sessions very well

    The food may take forever to be ready, and the conditions may be less than sparkly clean, but it still is a lot of fun.

  8. nyce article..I LOOOOOOOOOOVVVVEE THE LAST LINES BIGTYME!!!!!ITS IS SURE MY STATUS UPDATE IN FB HEHEHE

    The last cigarette lines? I will savour it..take it in and hold my breath, hoping that it never ends, when it’s gone it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

