Internship: Week One

I know we are supposed to look official but I don't think Short Suits are recommended.

Work…

Well, it has been one week. I am keeping my cool at the work place, observing everyone and everything. Eventually, you get to learn who to fear, who wants to be treated with the utmost respect and formality (I respect everyone), who wants to be greeted when you meet in the corridors, who wants to be avoided at all costs (they’d rather you act like you did not exist), which interns to make friends with, what kind of topics to discuss with intern #1 and not intern #2…..

It’s not my aim to be everyone’s friend or the favourite intern. All i want is to be known as the intern who knows her work, is responsible, punctual, reliable and flexible. Friendly but not so much so that you can take advantage of her.

So with my big mouth, i’ve already told one or two fellow interns that I am the face behind this blog..which will make it hard to write honestly about them (or diss-make fun of- them). I know not enough office politics yet.
The week was not bad. Let me just highlight the lows and the downs of working here:

The Lows:
Waking up early. If it was once in a week like during early lessons or exam time…maybe. But working means am up too early and especially considering am used to waking up past 10 when on holiday…

So you thought you would wear your best, plus the working high heels and strut in and everyone will look up as the hot new intern walks in. first of all, the floor is too slippery to strut in stilettos without the fear of falling and second..this place is teeming with interns, so there is nothing special about you!

Working late on some nights…maybe some sacrifices are worth making. So maybe those dreams of having after-work coffee and drinks with my classmates as they too leave their offices will happen on the days am not working late and not any day I wished…

The Highs

It feels rewarding going home in the evening after having accomplished something during the day, even if it was testing a program or checking out the website for out of date stuff and broken links. Or creating a shortcut for a user on the desktop.

I have met someone from my campus, and a friend I hadn’t seen in a while interning here. Looks like i will not have trouble making friends…plus some of the guys are well…good looking 🙂

Now that am part of the I.T team, i can go into places written on the door “ Strictly I.T. Staff only.” They include mysterious rooms called “control rooms”…so even if you’ve never used them, but at least you have been told to supervise the cleaning because an I.T. staff member has to be there at all times.

I work 15 min (without traffic jam) away from home, and 30 min with jam…which means I don’t have to wake up too early, and I use less fare which is good since intern’s payment is peanuts. At least here, it will cover my transport cost and lunch, or transport cots and credit.
Not all three. Or lunch and credit.

I don’t want to analyze too much…just know I like the place so far.

7 Responses

  1. Creating a shortcut for a user on the desktop? They really need to get serious and get you wok to do. Good that you love the place.

    Well…I told you some programming work may be coming my way soon. It could be worse..I could be shown the inside of a comp as part of my learning process. And you know how in school guys exist with their CPUs open all the time

  2. Whenever i see those ‘strictly IT staff only’signs, I imagine secret rituals being performed, with strange code-word chants and magic …stuff 🙂

    I think it’s just something IT people do to make themselves feel special….but someone may get in and seriously mess up something important, and IT guys will be blamed. Am I supposed to also stop smiling when saying hi to people? I think IT guys don’t smile…wait, they don’t even say hi.

    Glad you are enjoying the internship

    Thanks..

  3. Hey that nice continue to be an inspiration as search.Keep going and you will know more about the work.Dont mind about the shortcut it was an introduction the you will face the real task next that what happens in any organization.Otherwise good work and enjoy more from your new job.Make friend and know them well and you will succeed.
    Gddy.

    User support tends to have it’s headaches..some simple things users cannot do and someone has to help them. The interns are given this kind of work. Perhaps I’ll learn patience. Thanks and goodday to you too.

  4. You compromised your anonymity?! You and your big mouth!

    Am just hoping the two interns will keep their mouths shut.

  5. Lovely session but wewe ni hii big mouth yako! Learn not to sell yourself out that easily.

    Sometimes you want to ‘kujipigia debe’.

  6. Is that some sort of Fashion Police photo? Eeeuuuw. That is officially banned at my Workland!

    I don’t know if short suits will finally come into office fashion, but you’ve been warned! It’s me playing paparazzi by the way.

    Anyways, hope you get to enjoy your internship period. And that it is not just some sort of cheap labour disguised as another learning experience, as most Firm in this country make it to be! If they are paying you peanuts, how do they hope they fit in your purse?

    So you know I bought a new purse for work, eh? I hate handbags but I have to make do with one because official clothes don’t come with pockets! You are right about most firms using interns as cheap labour. This place is a little better..you do learn a lot even if it is work that is nowhere near the job description.

  7. I lyk these lines “..what kind of topics to discuss with intern #1 and not intern #2″,”So with my big mouth…”.I neva knew you were this keen(…guys exist with their CPUs open all the time
    )

    The open CPU’s are a bit obvious..every room in the guy’s hostel does. Plus am adjusting to the place. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

