Drama At Work

Where do I start? Oh yes..let’s start with interns. I heard someone gave some interns in an un-named department a telling off. More like a yelling off.

“All you do is Facebook, and entertainment sites all day!”

“And entertain men.” This is to an intern who was very friendly to an intern in another department.

“And what is between you and MoneyMan?” This was to intern 2 who was seen smiling to MoneyMan. MoneyMan is married with two children. He says fat men are disgusting (he is more of rounded to me…talk about the log in his eye), also that he can’t allow his wife to trap him to have more children. Anyway, MoneyMan flirts with everyone. Maybe except the one giving the yelling-off.

The yeller was on my case this morning: “You are not good with user support. I wish Andy was here.” Ouch! That was after I had reported a user complaining about their Ms Word. Ms Word! I could write the program. So I went anyway and solved the problem in about…10 seconds.

“You must have struggled..” Yeller quiped when I reported that all was ok. Am not having the best of days. At least the supervisor is talking to me. Yesterday he just shook his head and said, “Just go back”. That was after I came late and he had been looking for me. He did not speak to me the whole day.

Which reminds me last week, I missed a whole day of work. I was called to school, something about a scholarship. I knew no details except to be there by 8 a.m. I thought by noon, I’d be done. Anyway, it’s a long story…something about the department nominating two of it’s best performing female students (yeah!), then they had to identify those who really needed help with paying school fees this year. So to cut the story short, it was 4.30 p.m. when we were called for the interview and Oh la la! Where has he been hiding all these years? I’ve just got a new crush.

Am sure you are confused. Ok, I did not get the bursary because there were others who needed it more. So he works in the Dean’s department and he was a part of the panel of interviewers. He is tall. He is dark. He is handsome and courteous. He said we should not worry about not getting the bursary..being nominated in the first place was an honour. He said we can pursue other avenues. He said he’s always there, any problems, financial or otherwise….am thinking of developing an addiction so I can go for counselling when we open for session. He made my day.

All this talk of crushes has reminded me, this fellow intern. She has a crush on The Light One. He is tall and yes, light. And very good looking, polite and friendly too. But it’s her crush not mine.

Today isn’t over yet and still…there is one more story to tell. I really should stop this joking around, because last week I jokingly said, “lunch?” and NA took that up as an invitation. As far as it stands now, it’s become a dinner. And it’s also become a “just between you and me” affair. It’s a dangerous affair. No, he’s not married…just a little bit older. Okay, just very much older.

7 Responses

  1. I like your workplace…there’s drama

    That’s not even half of it…but I want to stay out of people’s affairs and affairs.

  2. Please go for the dinner and gimme something more to read !! pleeeeeeaaassse!!!

    Am seriously considering it…I think a date is already set and he said he’ll make sure am home before the curfew.

  3. I love your workplace…

    you’re welcome to work here…

  4. “He is tall. He is dark. He is handsome and courteous.”
    Oh and sometimes he gives smart, sarcastic answers. *grin* Trust me, i know.

    sarcastic is good…means he may be interesting after all.

  5. I take it NA stands for Nice Ass? New Aspirant? Naked Ambition? Neoarchean Age? Nelson Arunga?

    Whatever it is do enjoy your dinner and breakfast.

    Dinner..maybe. Breakfast, I don’t see how!

  6. I follow.

    workplace is not so bad after all..

  7. I’m confused as to where to post. This blog or the other one.
    THO (to borrow from Archer for The Handsome One), said he’s willing to help with ANYTHING right? 😉

    I miss having a crush! Le sigh. Not those 3 minute ones, but the long nice I am liking you crushes. Sigh

    Enjoy dinner and breakfast for two,

    Now I may just do the whole thing so I can have a story to tell.

Leave a Reply

