Tales From Naivasha

Someday I’m gonna find it
Wish I knew what I was looking for
Inside the disarray (inside the disarray)
I woke up this morning
Don’t know where I’m going
But it’s alright
I wouldn’t have it any other way
(Lifehouse~Disarray)

These lyrics could very well described my state on Friday morning as I packed a bag in readiness to attend the Rift Valley festival. I was arriving at Naivasha the following day at around 2 p.m. and headed straight to Fisherman’s camp.

You can see the lake through the trees

The stage was already set for the artists to perform later in the night.

The Stage

Kwani? (kwani.org) too were here and I was persuaded to buy two books: by Chimamanda Adichi, hailed as the 21st century Chinua Achebe daughter. (Half of a Yellow Sun, and Purple Hibiscus)

The Book Exhibition!

In fact, it was three books. The third, which I’ve finished reading, is by a Kenya author, Martin Njaga. The Brethren of Ngondu. It’s a small book published by Storymoja and it had me laughing at the beginning and crying at the end. It was that involving.

The Brethren of Njogu

I watched one artist perform….he sounded really good. I have to get his CD somehow. He is called Winyo.

Winyo singing a Love Song

I would have stayed and watched the rest of the performances, but in the process of looking for supper, I found myself at on the road to Nakuru.

The Highway to Naks Is beautiful at night

And at Taidy’s in Nakuru, they have these really cool notices at the door

On the Ladies’ Door
At the Gent’s Door

I was back in Naivasha the following day. And I was on they way on the way to Nairobi soon after.I met one other artist Masese, who calls himself grandmasterobokano

Grand Master Obokano

Only to be welcomed back by a pick-pocketer who did away with my wallet and IDs. I spent the whole of Monday trying to replace them. The conductor had apparently seen me being robbed so he gave my hysterical self a lift home. A bad ending to an otherwise almost perfect weekend.

11 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Savvy Kenya, Savvy Kenya. Savvy Kenya said: @Violetotina here we go.. http://bit.ly/b1nO1h […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by savvykenya: @Violetotina here we go.. http://bit.ly/b1nO1h

  3. I know those loos…
    Me n the boyz recently went rendezvousing at the same place

    it looked like a fun place! I didn’t stay long though.

  4. Seems you really enjoyed yourself. Plus i want two of the books that you bought.

    Great pictures too. 🙂

    will try to read them fast…thanks for the pics. Wish I had a better camera.

  5. thanks for this experience.was nice meeting a blogger.Could blog too but am not sure about Naivasha

    How come you aren’t sure? You could just write what you experienced…

  6. Nice Pics, seems you really enjoyed!

    Cursed person who darn taken your wallet NKT!

    Pole 🙂

    Next time, you could come too! But am recovering from the wallet loss.

  7. very cute blog u gat @savvykenya keeep up da faya!

    thanks a lot, Lawey.

  8. Glad you loved my book. Great feedback!

    Martin.

  9. just placed a link to this blog article on my face book page.

  10. Hey…which is your facebook page?

  11. Hi, what a sad story,anyway hope u enjoyed the breez in naivasha.my home is naivasha.pole n karibu tena

Leave a Reply

