Wamathai Spoken Word at Secrets Lounge

Unlike most Kenyan timers, Chiira and I were seated by 6.30 p.m. The event was to start at (around) 7pm to 9.30 p.m. being the first, we inquired where it would be held and were told the first floor. Secrets Lounge (hereafter shortened to just Secrets) has covers 3 floors, am told, though I didn’t get to the second floor. At first when I told my friends I was going to Secrets, there were expressions like:

The Strip Club? The Gay Club?

Actually, it may (or was) all that but it’s now a really cool place with a black and white décor. It was empty save for us, of course and the hot bartender. Wamathai, being host, organiser and all, was running up and down fixing this that. However, by 7pm, the place was already full, and by 7.15, you could hardly find space to stand. Turnout was huge; this is a real achievement for a first time event.

So those who always plan to come fashionably late missed seats, and then there are those who come shamefully late (when the event is already over…I shall not mention names- including my friends who were coming to give me moral support because I was going to read a piece for my very first time. Note, I said read, not perform. Slight difference there. A shout out to them: Smonchstar, Boosy woosy and her cousin, WallyB and Pato)

Lights, mikes, camera and action! It started off with this couple (I don’t know if they are together, am just saying couple coz they were two) singing Wyclef Jean’s Two Wrongs. Then the MC for the evening invited the performers of the evening. (I am so so very terrible with names) but among those who performed included Mike Kwambo, Wanjeri Gakuru, Anyiko, Jemedari, Mstari wa Nne, myself and Wamathai himself

The crowd was paying 85% attention at the beginning, and this kept deteriorating as tweeps/facebookers/friends and acquaintances forgot it was about poetry and not all about the hype. Read more here

I was nervous as I went to read my poem, but the cake helped, and maybe one or two cold ones. I know the piece or the reading was nothing to write home about 😉 , but thanks for the applause and I hope to do better next time. Which has been the question on everyone’s mind: when is the next time? With a bigger venue, of course.

In attendance was James Murua, Antoneosoul,Oliver Mathenge and a long list of tweeps I don’t want to attempt writing because someone might be left out and then they’ll feel bad, and you know I love you all!

The after-party went on of course; never mind it was a weekday; I had asked this and Wamathai told me Friday is a tricky day because of the world cup. Am sure you all understand.

I’d love to attend the next Wamathai Spoken Word.

P.S. Since I have no photos of that event..I’ll post a pic of his that made me his number one groupie:

What do you think?

P.S.2
I was going to put up this piece earlier, but then I lost my data cable, then got arrested, but that is a story for another day!

P.S.3
I’ve added this much later: I thought I should mention some special tweeps who were in attendace: @cdohnio (who arrived early and has an awesome young blog, @kirembu (at least you knew the words I was going to read), @muniu, @nbad_kitty, @mwirigi, @switcheeks, @shuhi, @jerishi, @swambi, @ngeny, @EdwinBaru, @Mwendaa, @Mkaigwa (I’ll watch the dawa film, I promise), @ifortknox, @matrixster, @joliea, @murimuriz, @kaggzie (you didn’t say hi!), @mmuendo, @albieno and if I haven’t mentioned your name, please don’t throw a stone at me!

13 Responses

  1. Hey! I was there early too! Great post! You’re performance was hot!!*groupie love*

    much appreciated, thank you *blushing*

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Patrick M. Patrick M said: RT @savvykenya: New post: http://savvy.sikika.co.ke/?p=604 ~ Wed night at Secrets Lounge <> glad to be there […]

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The comment’s server IP (208.74.66.43) doesn’t match the comment’s URL host IP (74.112.128.10) and so is spam.

  3. Thank you blogging about the event prior, performing at the event and also doing a review on it.. oh and cdohnio is right, your performing was HOT(the dress too)!

    you’re welcome…and thank you. Anything you ask of your groupie 😉

  4. Guilty of coming to the event extremely late after attending Social media day at iHub. I woudn’t comment on the performances coz i have no idea but from what i gathered the attendance was amazing and that augur well for the social media in Kenya.

    Twitter and FB are playing a major role…as Marvin Tumbo said on his blog. I couldn’t make it to the social media day..maybe next time.

  5. Despite the event being gatecrashed by socialites and noisemakers (for the lack of a better diss) it was great! Tweeps had a chance to put faces to handles and that was great! Meeting you was one of my highlights I must say (Me thinks am a groupie :P)!!

    In all, it went well and we loved the massive attendance. Wamathai couldn\’t believe it himself!

    Oh yea…Secrets is very open and gay-friendly. Don\’t run away!! 😀

    Secrets….open. Get the irony?

  6. […] I like what @Wamathai did with his Spokenword event this past week. He is a very active twitter user. As a Kenyan on Twitter, you cannot miss him in many of the meetups or on your twitter feed. So when he announced on Twitter that he was hosting a Spokenword event at the Secrets Lounge, from the tweets last week, people were actually split between attending his event or going for the Social Media Day meetup at iHub. That is how much loyalty he has from twitter followers. Suffice to say, it was a full house according to @savvykenya in her blog here. […]

  7. Wish I was there! I’ve a feeling I missed a lot.

    maybe there can be a Mombasa one!

  8. Nice post!!!! I did love ur dress, am a green fan:) Despite murmurs here and there well it was a successfull show 4 wamathai.com. mob love xoxo

    thanks….I liked the colour of your nails! Can’t wait for next time.

  9. no comments on the performances as i was ‘shamefully late’ but it was nice meeting up people…nice post and thanks for the shout out 🙂 😀

    you’re welcome…next time I’ll go early with you guys.

  10. First thanks for the sneak peak into your poem you could not imagine my shock when I heard it again. Your performance… you were a bit nervous at first but still managed a great showing, kudos. Nice post as always 🙂

    Let’s hope next time it’s much better. Thanks for your support.

  11. Thanks for adding me!? Appreciate it!

  12. Thanks for the link ..lol… i sure cant wait for the next one…sad i dint meet you..:( next time maybe….O.some post

    I’ll look for you at the next poetry event..

  13. Kenyans are going places. Check out this great poet. Wow

Leave a Reply

