The Young Writers Project: Public Reading

It’s been ten (I don’t want to use the words glorious, hectic, exciting or marvelous) so I’ll just go ahead and say it’s been ten weeks of glorious, hectic, exciting and marvelous fun and learning. This writing project was an experience I’d want to relieve. I haven’t really had time to sit down and blog about it, but I will.

And so it has come to an end. I’d like to invite you all readers of my blog to a public reading of the short stories we wrote over that period. I’ll let you take pictures with me 😉 and then I’ll put them up on the blog.

Time: 22 August · 14:30 – 18:00

Location: Sherlock’s Den (Nakumatt Lifestyle)

More info
The participants of the Young Writers’ Project invite you to a public reading on Sunday, August 22. They will read selections from short stories written during the ten-week fiction course led by Makena Jackline and Natasha Smith.

Participants:
Sylvia Aleso
Linda Ayuma
Ben Chege
John Kalya
Linda Khejeri
Paul Kioko
Timothy Kyalo
Aloysius Maina
Grace Mogire
Tom Nyangari
Alphayo Nyarera
Harriet Ocharo
Lionel Oduol
Claudette Oduor
Sheila Okongo
Geoffrey Sore
Joshua Wera

To read all the stories, please visit the STORYMOJA website beginning August 25, 2010.

FREE. Snacks will be served.

PS: Look for the advertisement in this Monday’s Daily Nation (August 16).

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Savvy Kenya, Savvy Kenya. Savvy Kenya said: @greatrnk you're invited too! http://savvy.sikika.co.ke/?p=662 […]

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The comment’s server IP (208.74.66.43) doesn’t match the comment’s URL host IP (74.112.128.10) and so is spam.

  2. You could add “eye-opening” to that list of adjectives, and that applies in various ways: realizing you are not as good a writer as you thought you were; realizing how a “well-written” story could be full of flaws when critically reviewed; realizing what really makes a story good enough; and realizing just how many budding writers there are out there. There ought to be more projects like this.

    Thanks for the invite. See you there!

    I have so much to say about it, and i will. Just haven’t had time to sit down and do it.

  3. […] This post was Twitted by savvykenya […]

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The comment’s server IP (94.23.51.159) doesn’t match the comment’s URL host IP (87.98.139.183) and so is spam.

  4. Sheila invited me for the event, I didn’t know you would be one of the writers.

    Amazing, the talent that people have! I didn’t know what to expect but the literature you guyz had was really good, I enjoyed.

    I hope the same workshop takes place again. Good stuff Savvy 🙂

Leave a Reply

