Campus So Far

Just the other day, I was a freshman (fresher), ready to take on campus and all, but now it’s down to my last semester. I have a tonne of advice for those starting campus, but not today; relax I still have 3 more months of undergraduate left.

So am sure you are wondering how I will continue blogging on The Diary of a Kenyan Campus Girl yet I will no longer be in campus. Yeah, I may be back to do my Masters but it won’t be the same. Fear not, I have hit on a brilliant idea, watch this space.

At the beginning of this academic year, I made a list of things to do. I’ve done some, am yet to do others so here’s the review and the evidence where possible.

1. Date a younger guy. Am not sure about this though..perhaps I should call back my brother’s friends who have been sending me funny-funny texts. There is also this neighbour whose brother will be joining first year in my campus and she wants him to be shown around..hmmm…

The first year who was ‘katiaing’ me disappeared ;-( so I may take up a couple of offers from young tweeps out there.

2. Get a crazy hairdo. Am actually thinking of dying my hair burgundy, now that I couldn’t find purple dye. And a tattoo while at it. Maybe I’ll put up a pic.

I don’t have the tattoo yet…but if you look closely, my mo-hawked hair is dyed purplish

Faux-hawk

3. Drink keg and muratina at nguka’s. Don’t even know where that is, but it’s high time I found out.

The ambience at Carol’s Keg Center is nothing to go by, trust me, but chilled keg with a straw goes down smoothly.

Carol's Keg Center

A mug of Keg

4. Make out in the library.

Not yet. I need a partner first.

5. Decide absolutely my mission in life. Change it five times.

I didn’t decide the mission yet; I still have 3 more months to make and change my mind

6. Visit every corner, nook and cranny of the vast(ish) campus.

I think I’ve achieved this. Who wants a tour?

7. Seriously become active in the few clubs I have joined.

I’m too busy to be active ;-(

8. Climb mount Kenya with those guys who announce the activity on the notice board.

They haven’t put up a notice yet

9. Travel alone outside the country…am thinking Uganda soon.

I’m travelling this Thursday, I’ll blog about it when I come back.

10. Do an exam while high. Ok, maybe I wont risk an exam, but a CAT in a boring but easy subject.

Am I high?

11. Become involved in my college town. Complete a project that will benefit the local community.

I’ll do this with Rotaract Club

12. Fall helplessly in love, get dumped, and recover. This just sounds stupid, I know. I picked it up from the internet. But what’s college without heartbreak?

This actually happened over first semester; it was drama and then some. Here’s a link to the story inspired from this.

13. Climb the water tank at Studiez: this is like the highest point in campus and I rem last year a couple of finalists climbed it. I was going to join them, but I was lucky to have even made it to my bed. Don’t know how wasted one has to be to do such a silly thing.

Am I high?

14. Tear down the papers at the main notice board…every Friday night, some idiot tears down the notices in a drunk and disorderly way, I guess in readiness for a new week or something. Will be an idiot someday.

Problem is, I haven’t been wasted in campus, am always out there

15. Go for bowling…maybe not. Never seen the fun in it. Perhaps I’ll just play it on the computer.

Sometime soon, I’ll do this at VM.

16. Skinny dip in a pool somewhere.

I haven’t found an idea pool

P.S. I know it wasn’t on the list but I got arrested.

11 Responses

  1. I could help with one…
    Bowling! And whip your ass while at it!

    Whip my ass? He he. I’ll holla then.

  2. hahahaha,that studiez tank thing,am joining you!!1st on top gets free drinks!

    was it free drinks or was it loser strips?

  3. […] Campus So Far | The Diary of A Kenyan Campus Girl […]

  4. Are you high?? ha ha ha. good luck with the stuff you have not gotten a chance to do yet.

    Thanks. No, I wasn’t high when I wrote this

  5. Not bad progress….not bad at all

    and now my list is even better

  6. […] to Uganda alone means I have struck one more thing off my to-do list. I’m doing well enough, I […]

  7. Damn you savvy now I have to write a list ! So much fun!

  8. […] Campus So Far | The Diary of A Kenyan Campus Girl […]

  9. Tihiii, interesting stoff dear, as for the libu plot, you do have a partner only that he’s unwilling, (sowwy to put yo vyb out there). Do this tho, make the proposition more tangy and maybe, just maybe he’ll capitulate. Hmmmnn, I’m thinkin, oh wait, I cant say that on you’re blog, will tell you in person,
    *Giggles and logs off*

  10. […] Campus So Far | The Diary of A Kenyan Campus Girl […]

  11. I do not comment, however I browsed some remarks on Campus So
    Far | The Diary of a Kenyan Campus Girl. I actually
    do have a few questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be just me or does it look like some of these
    comments appear like they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are writing at other places, I would like to
    keep up with you. Would you list of all of your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

