Random Tuesdays: Kwani Open Mic

There is this perfect week idea I have. Yes, I borrowed the idea from Bernie? Barnie? of How I Met Your Mother, but I don’t intend to sleep with a perfect stranger for seven days in a row. My intentions involve going out to party/club seven days in a row. Okay, maybe not seven but 5; I have it all worked out. Tuesday to Saturday. I’ll write about it so you watch out for when it happens.

Yesterday I attended Kwani? Open Mic at Club Soundd. I think I was the first to arrive and the last to leave; I remember the bouncer switching the lights on us while my friend requested the song bendover to usher us out. The request was granted and the bouncer told her she can always come back and request the song over and over again. Somebody was in like!

I’d like to say I listened to the poems for like an hour; after that your guess is as good as mine. Kenyanpoet (Njeri Wangari) performed some poems from her book and they were really good.

There were some tweeps in the house; the cheerful Chiira, the lovely Joliea, geeky gramware (hope you enjoy the book!), chilled out warothe, foxy Felix Mind and lovely Njeri. Who else was there but I forgot to mention? I’ll add you later if you remind me. I promise.

There was another tweep who deserves special mention, don’t ask why. His name is….drumrolls….. Zablon or Zabdyte on twitter.

So having been ushered out of Club Soundd, we made out way to Giggles to have that one more for the road. I’d want to write about the details of last night but that would be breaking my rule of kiss and no tell. It was a crazy night for a Tuesday though.

So am travelling to Uganda tomorrow; one more item crossed off my list.

5 Responses

  1. when is the next open mic gig? I wanna attend but somehow i usually get to hear about them the day after.

    Kwani? Open Mic is held at Club Soundd every first Tuesday of each month. There is also Wamathai Spoken word this Thursday at Secrets Lounge from 7.30pm.

  2. That does pass as a BHH of sorts..

    more like a tweetup, but yes, it’s BHH

  3. It was lovely 😀

    I agree.

  4. Barney… 🙂
    I’ll try and keep up with your partying/clubbing stories… you got energy!

  5. I did enjoy the book

Leave a Reply

