Tales From Kampala – Part Two

Cont’d From Part One

Part Two: Friday in Kampala

My friend strode in, looked around and was leaving when I called out to her. Thank God she didn’t go into “Savvy you’ve grown fat!” she was more of “Savvy you have changed.” Changed is good, changed is polite and unmalicious. She told me you have to manually select your network for your phone(s) to work in Uganda. Safaricom has partnered with UTL and MTN, and Zain KE with Celtel-Uganda. We then left to take a taxi to her place.

When I say taxi, I don’t mean a cab. Ugandans call their matatus taxis. And they are in no way pimped or in good condition, like you find the matatus in Kenya are.

Ugandan Taxi

Kenyan matatus are sometimes pimped with graffiti, loud music systems and flashing lights.

A pimped Kenyan Matatu

One thing I realized after landing in Kampala is its friendliness. I don’t mean everyone rushing to say hi and welcome to Uganda kind of way. I mean I felt like I belonged. There is no feeling of being foreign, maybe I’m Ugandan and I don’t know it. I fit right in. Of course the currency was confusing, and I had to pay for anything by first calculating its value in Kenyan shillings.

M.T (my friend) led me to her hostel around the Makerere area; she goes to campus there. I was planning to do some catching up on sleep in the morning hours and some shopping later in the afternoon, but it was not to be. The shopping happened but the morning beauty sleep didn’t. I hollad up a friend around 9 a.m. after I had showered and freshened up and he invited us for breakfast at his house. M.T and I were up for a hearty breakfast with our friend whom we’ll call Mr. Sweet Teeth. He sometimes has tea and toast with his sugar.

His friend dropped us off at the Omuna Market around noon so we could do some shopping. He was an interesting guy with an accent I couldn’t place; it wasn’t European or American, or Kenya, Tanzanian, Ugandan or Rwandan. It’s just an African accent.

We first passed by this supermarket that would blind you with it’s sheer brilliantness. Those colours almost gave me a headache.

Blinding colours supermarket

Shopping is hard work people. Finding the right shoe or dress or jeans took us the whole afternoon of walking around downtown Kampala. The sellers sometimes grabbed your hand calling you “sister, sister”. Our tempers were running short when this guy grabbed my friend. She turned to him, “What? what do you want?”

“I want you.” he said while grabbing his crotch.

“Do I look your type now?” she had on a full blast Ugandan accent. “Do I look your type?”

The guy was still leering at her so she said, “leave me alone, you have a small &*#@”. That shut him up.

By the time we left the market, it was almost 6 p.m and it was time to get ready for Kampala night life.

To be Cont’d

P.S. Idd was on Friday in Uganda. How is that possible? I thought the moon appears the same time in Kenya as it does in Uganda. Now you wish you were Ugandan, huh? That was one holiday gone like that. Idd in Kenya happened on Saturday, FYI.

9 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by kinoti and Savvy Kenya, Savvy Kenya. Savvy Kenya said: Tales from Kampala, part two http://bit.ly/c4oOwu @olivermathenge @kinoti @dohtxx@capsulesmax […]

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The comment’s server IP (208.74.66.43) doesn’t match the comment’s URL host IP (74.112.128.10) and so is spam.

  2. Waiting for the part where you went to Club Silk Royale, Angenoir etc… 🙂

    And Idd was on Friday, only that the holiday had been gazetted for Saturday.

  3. u went to UG, no wonder the UG boyfriend statement. i am so jealous here Savvy gal. cant wait for the next bit

  4. Travellin in ug must b borin..say savvy,is it tru all ugandan gals wear wigs/weaves?..cant wait 4 part 3,nyabo!did they(ug men) call u tht?

  5. Please describe for me and in DETAIL what u mean by an AFRICAN ACCENT…

  6. Huhu!!!

    Yu made me laugh hehe!!

  7. @greatrnk I realized that about Idd. Hope you read part 3

    @Samora of course I went to Ug; Ug boyfriend stories to be shared later 😉

    @Tonnito there is nothing boring about Uganda; and the girls there are just like the girls here. Weaves everywhere

    @Raymond you have to remind me to speak in that accent the next time we meet

    @Joliea you’re welcome

  8. naona nyota nyota

Leave a Reply

