Harambee Stars Vs Ugandan Cranes

Do you remember this post? I had no choice but to be in church on Saturday morning. I prepared and was in church by 10 a.m., which was a little late because the lecture theater where the services where being held was full. You know how lecture theaters are? Entrance is at the front and if you have to make a quick exit, that’s the place to sit. I was hoping that my fashionably late entrance would be noted by whoever was watching and nobody would ask me later why I hadn’t been to church.


Lecture theater looks almost like this one



I sneaked out just before the main preaching started, because once the speaker of the day is given time, he takes as much time as he wants. He could preach for 3 hours if he wanted and that would mean missing the Harambee Stars match. I’d bet heavily on the game: I was going to change my twitter name from Savvy Kenya to Savvy Uganda, and possibly my nationality too if the stars lost to the Cranes.

Having left church around noon, and changed from my dress to jeans and carried a borrowed vuvuzela, I got into a matatu around 1p.m. to town. Now, my small brother who’s blowing the vuvuzela below was in possession of the tickets and had been at the stadium since noon. He was giving us (my other bro and I) one hour to get to the stadium or he’d sell our tickets. I kept telling him am almost in town even when I was stuck in traffic because the Chinese constructors (contractors?)had decided Saturday was the best time to divert traffic to roadside paths.
..
..

My small bro

..
..
By the time I finally got to the stadium, it was 3.30pm and my brothers were already inside. Somehow, we managed to communicate and they wrapped my ticket around a small flag they’d bought and threw it over the wall of the stadium. Of course, there were few spiderman wannabes who scaled the wall but since I had my ticket no need to resort to desperate measures. The queues were long and so winding, but hey, am a chick so I just smiled at some guy and he let me cut the queue. He later told me he’ll be my husband and I said yeah, we’ll get married for sure.

I finally got into the packed stadium. Somehow, I found my brothers and abandoned ‘my husband’ because chicks were getting preferential treatment getting in. You just stand next to a cop and he ushers you in.

The packed stadium



I don’t want to get into details of the match, I tweeted so much during the match keeping guys updated because the match wasn’t being shown live. Thanks to greed KFL/FKL/KFF or whatever the match organizers are called who were asking for so much money even the state corporation KBC could not afford it. Needless to say, Kenya’s Harambee Stars were dominant and we had very many scoring chances. The energy of the fans was awesome even if the Ugandan fans refused to participate in the Mexican wave. They did later though. And they were very many. They came in like 20 or so buses, I hear.

..

..

Ugandan Fans at the other end of the field in yellow

..
..

The match ended in a nil-nil draw which means Kenya is at the bottom of the group. The other countries include Uganda, which leads the group with 4 points, followed by Guinea Bissau which has 3 points, then Angola which has 3 points too but an inferior goal difference, and there we are at the bottom with 1 point.

I eagerly await the return match, which is sadly not until next year October (7th I think). I wonder if I can make it to Kampala, I don’t even know where I’ll be at that time.

Meanwhile, you can read about the other matches I have previously attended here (AFC Leopards vs Gor Mahia), here (Harambee Stars Vs Cameroon’s Indomitable Lions), here (A disappointed Harambee Stars fan), here (Kenya Vs Mozambique, a 2-1 victory) or here (Harambee Stars Vs Tunisia, a loss!).

P.S. Doing a post you may want to read tomorrow. Let’s meet right here.

12 Responses

  1. I went to Nyayo not for the match but to throw stones as revenge for migingo but the jangos were not up to it.

    Surprisingly, the match was very peaceful despite the mammoth crowd!

  2. Harambee Stars Vs Ugandan Cranes…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. Return match will be in March but methinks we should forget about 2012 championships, then spend time putting our house in order. This is Mission Impossible.

    We should always have hope, my dear confused Kenyan (no pun there, it’s your name, right?) P.S. you may want to put up at least one post on your blog?

  4. I don like football but that was a match I could have watched.

    Being in the stadium is entertainment enough. Think of it as an afternoon outdoors.

  5. Thanks for the re-cap, last match I attended was the ill-fated Kenya Morocco WC qualifyer. Let me aim for one of the Wednesday night premier league matches, maybe next season

    You’re welcome. There is still the return match of AFC and Gor later in the year, I think. As for an international match, I’ll get you the next ticket.

  6. Lovely summary. I was at the match too (I know, I know, long story)

    You were at the match and you didn’t tell me! you were at the match and you didn’t tell me?

  7. i did appreciate you keeping us posted about the match via twitter.

    I was dying to have you change your name to savvy Uganda.You don’t know how much i was hoping to see that.

    See you in Kampala when that time to massacre the Harambe stars comes.

    massacre will be on the cranes…watch out for the stars!

  8. I was actually supporting The cranes seeing that i am so fed up of the stupidity and selfish nature of our FKL/KPL./KFF/politicians interference with this beautiful sport! Nice read btw 🙂

    Thanks. I wish I could be given the opportunity to run football in Kenya, these politicians are killing our game.

  9. gud work

  10. Beta let than neva!

    Hope we can make it for the finals!

  11. […] On Saturday March the 26th, Kenya’s Harambee Stars was playing against Angola’s Black Antelopes (Palancas Negras in Portuguese) at Nyayo Stadium. For the first time since 2008, I did not attend Harambee Stars’ international match played at home. The last match I watched at the stadium was in November last year against Uganda where we drew 1-1. […]

  12. […] in the same group, and I remember sneaking out of church (well, sort of) last year so I could catch the first leg of the match at Nyayo Stadium. Click to read my summary of them match last year! I had bet heavily on the game and might have had […]

Leave a comment